Whispy grass

Post here for advice on anything in the garden.

Moderators: alison, sonny

Whispy grass

Postby kaz on Fri Sep 30, 2005 7:49 pm

When the top garden was planted, I really hated the grasses and was going to pull them up. Now they've matured, I think they look quite pretty. Anyone else have grasses?

kaz

Postby Anyanka on Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:12 pm

I'm just getting into grasses - for a long time I was put off by a) how 'in' they were and b) a lot of the ones in our local garden centre were a bronze colour that just made them look like they'd been dead for a long time...
Just bought another Carex and a Miscanthus (Zebra grass) last week at Wisley to add to the growing collection, they're mostly in pots around the pond.
Oh heck, I'll go out and get a photo now. Just hoping someone will tell me how to put them on!
Anyanka

Postby kaz on Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:44 pm

I'd be interested to see your grasses Anyanka. I (think) that I've got quite a few, but not sure if they are 'a grass' and I don't know their names either.

As for the 'browny' coloured ones, unfortunately I have a couple of them too, which I'll pull up... they look dead (maybe they are :shock: )
kaz

Postby kaz on Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:54 pm

Not sure what they are and don't like some:

The dead look:

kaz

Postby alison on Sun Oct 02, 2005 1:46 pm